Aleppo, The PM Activities?!?!?

7 05 2008

Well, this is my 4th year alone in Aleppo. And I’m really starting to develop a sense of hatred to this city.

Not that it’s ugly, dirty, or just smokey most of the time. But because there’s virtually nothing to do here but go to college, return home, go to college………

It’s a boooooring loop, and no matter how hard I try to escape it, Aleppo seems to get the upper-hand. Let me try to convince you:

Traditional methods of routine-breaking:

  • Movies (Cinemas): nothing interesting in local and respectable showrooms (2 to be exact). Mostly showing silly Egyptian movies which are coming closer to the Bollywood kinda style!
  • Poetry nights: mostly boring, having nothing to do with poetry, even though the music could be good sometimes.
  • Theater: do we even have theaters here?!?!?!?
  • Social gatherings: restricted to LAN matches. My friends can’t -for some reason- find any other useful way to socialize. (pretty “social” isn’t it?!)
  • Walks: N/A, same reason as above.
  • Net-surfing: Net-Cafes won’t let you do anything more than IMing and browsing, which are basically feasible using my home dial-up connection.
  • Club activities: DEFINE:CLUB.
  • Student Club activities: DEFINE:STUDENT; ANSWER:”ROBOT”.

I really can’t figure anything else, if you have any other way to spend the afternoon, please post about it.

So, I guess I just have to shed my human skin away for the rest of college, and rely on the human machine to get me through this living hell!

Bye for now,

The happy robot from Aleppo.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 12 2009
Hekmatk

hello there!

that’s funny. I was looking for some poetry about Aleppo. I’m from Aleppo and currently studying in Lebanon. I miss Aleppo so much.
Man, you’re in Aleppo…. and bored!
it’s funnny how each person stays attracted to his country of childhood.
HEY! You’re in Aleppo. simply the idea of being there cancels any feeling of being bored!!!! Just go to the saadalah plaza just stay there without doing anything, can’t you feel the beauty of Aleppo!??
I know you won’t understand me, just like I don’t when you say you’re bored in Aleppo…

Anyway, hope you get more fun…

16 12 2009
Kinan Debes

Hi,
I get your point, and I really enjoy sitting in the Saadalah Plaza, or the Central Park (which is outstanding btw). But after a while it all gets boring and somehow unsatisfying enough.
There’s also the Castle area, the Old City quarters, the Souqs, etc… I loved these locations and I visit them often with my friends, but the thing is, I find the city uninviting (in a spiritual kind of way). I don’t know the exact reason for this, but I feel like the city closes itself for newcomers (maybe the people have something to do with this too).
Anyway, there are many psychological reasons behind my boredom, and it could very well be related to my love for Damascus (my hometown), so I totally understand your point, and I appreciate your feedback. This post was not intended to be a negative representation of Aleppo, but rather to describe my personal point of view, based on my personal experience here.

Thanks a lot for your feedback, and I’d appreciate it if you would point me to some more interesting locations to visit in the city, maybe some restaurants too?!

17 12 2009
Hekmatk

hello!

Yeah I admit you’re right. Me too I used to find Aleppo sometimes boring when I was there. but now I’m in Lebanon, I really miss those “boring” days!
I certainly understand the post wasn’t intended to be anegative representation of Aleppo, don’t worry.

Actually, I don’t know if this will interest you, but have you been to jamilieh? our “computer center”? If you’re interested in computers, believe me there’s a LOt to do there!
You can try go bowling (we don’t often do that in Aleppo) in the “dream park” which is in the central park.
Concerning restaurants here are some of my favorites: go to the “grand station” it’s near faissal street. If you’re looking for something more popular, then you should try the “3andalib” which is a really great popular restaurant. It’s in baron street.

But yes, I agree that most of what you can do in Aleppo is EATING! hehe.

Anyway, whenever you feel really deadly bored just go back to damascus for a weekend or something (which I can’t do here unfortunately: I’m trapped in Lebanon while you’re not… lucky you!). Anyway, you’re going back to damscus for christmas aren’t you? I hope you’ll enjoy your holidays as much as I’ll do in ALEPPO!!!!!!!!!!!!

take care
hekmat

Leave a Reply

