MY PC, Part 1:

7 05 2008

Considering that I’ve spent lots of money (some mine some from my father’s pocket) on my PC, and that I spend 90% of my home-time using it, I couldn’t help but to brag about it here.

And since this is MY blog, I get to write as much as I want! Hurraaay!!

Let me start by saying (and stressing) that I’m a devoted Gamer. Can’t live without games. But we’ll talk about that later. The point is: my rig is a gaming rig, so please bare with me as I try to explain the details.

So, inside my magnificent piece of time-sucking hardware you’ll find:

– An Asus LGA775 motherboard, model P5LD2, with an Intel 945P chipset. Supports DDR2 frequencies up to 667MHz. Sadly, it doesn’t support the new Core2Duo processors ;(

– A very torture-able CPU: the Intel Pentium D805, which consists basically of 2 Pentium 4’s stitched together to make a dual-core processor using the 90nm process. It’s proudly rated @ 105 Watts, so obviously it’s hotter than a water boiler! Stock FSB frequency @ 133MHz giving it an effective QDR frequency of 2.66GHz. (very low, I know), but the bad news ends here.

– With the aid of a very precious Asus Silent SQUARE heatsink/fan + Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste, I’m now able to comfortably overclock the CPU all the way up to 3.5GHz (175MHz FSB)! Temperatures are ~58 C. under load, and about 46 C. when idle. Great numbers for a rated power of 150 Watts!!!

– Joining the CPU on the northbridge are 4 sticks of identical Kingston 512MB DDR2 667MHz CL5 ValueRAM. Also overclocked, and running at 700MHz.

– Aaaaand, introducing the masterpiece, the fierce, power-hungry, mindblowing BFGTech nVidia 8800GT VGA card!!!! (Applause all-around). It’s the OC edition and comes factory-overclocked @ 625MHz, 1566MHz, 1800MHz (Core, Shaders, Memory). Equipped with the legendary G92 GPU core by nVidia, the card is a REAL MONSTER!! But of course, I just can’t settle with stock speeds, so I overclocked it to a humble 675MHz, 1688MHz, 1950MHz (Core, Shaders, Memory). Problem is, it runs a bit hot, so I had to modify the fan speeds to make it run faster under load. So, the GPU core hardly steps over 75 C. under heavy load. And idles at 55 C. Moderate, I think.

To be continued…. (it’s 5 AM already!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

